Walking and Waiting

A few nights ago I went out to buy the rest of my Christmas gifts. I stopped by a few stores, but saved my favorite store for last… Barnes and Noble!

The second I pulled into the parking lot, though, I knew that it was going to be crazy in there. I started doing laps of the lot, hoping that someone would be leaving soon (preferably closer to the store), so that I could take their space and head on in. A spot finally opened up, but it had to be the farthest spot from the front doors. A little less chipper than when I left my apartment, I started my trek through the slushy parking lot in the cold to get to the warmth of the store. I walked in to find chaos – people everywhere, children crying, a line that was looping through some of the aisles in order to check out – it was crazy.

As I started to hunt for my books, I realized that this probably is not even the most chaotic the store will be in the coming week. People will rush to stores all around the country, likely a little frazzled, but determined to pick up the perfect gifts for their loved ones.

As I look back on that trip, I’ll admit I was a little bit grumpy about having to walk so far and wait in a long line. However, I’m coming to realize how silly that grumpiness was!

The Christmas season in our culture has turned into something that really takes the focus off of Christ. When we are frantically hunting for the perfect gifts or trying to make sure we have the best light show in the neighborhood, we are generally not thinking about Jesus or His birth.

As I made the “trek” through the parking lot to get into Barnes and Noble, I was not thinking about anything other than myself.

“And Joseph also went up from Galilee, from the town of Nazareth, to Judea, to the city of David, which is called Bethlehem, because he was of the house and lineage of David, to be registered with Mary, his betrothed, who was with child.” Luke 2:4-5

Reading this makes it pretty hard to be upset about my casual stroll through the parking lot. When we look back, we see that Joseph had to travel from Nazareth to Bethlehem with his pregnant fiance. They didn’t have a car or a bike or a train, but they did have their feet. So, they started their trek.

Sometimes in the winter, it is easy to get frustrated when we don’t get the best parking spot. When we have to walk that extra 100 feet to get into the store to buy our precious treasures. However, when we look at Mary and Joseph, they walked a bit more than 100 feet. They traveled 70-80 miles.

Their trek was not in order to buy the latest and greatest goods. It wasn’t to see all of the beautiful Christmas décor displayed for all to see. They traveled by order of the government to register. Not necessarily the most pleasant or rewarding reason… Not only that, but they got there and there was no room for them. Pregnant Mary and tired Joseph had nowhere to stay aside from the stable.

However, what happened in that stable changed the world.

Mary gave birth to Jesus, the long awaited King. This humble baby entered the world in order to save it.

That is the real reason we celebrate this time of year! While the festive decorations and gifts can be fun, sometimes we have to take a step back and focus in on the simplicity of the true meaning: Jesus and His birh.

So take some time this week to sit down and get away from the craziness. Open up your Bible to Luke 2 and read about the incredible birth of our Savior. Talk about His humble birth with your family. Take a step back from the chaos of the world and find your rest in Jesus – our long awaited King.

“Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. And this will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger.”
Luke 2:10-12

Merry Christmas!

-S

One thought on “Walking and Waiting

  1. This is really good! I never thought of it like that with the 70-80 mile walk Joseph and Mary had to take during the very first Christmas!! Hope you and your family have a very blessed and peaceful Christmas Shannon!! Donna XOXO

    Like

Leave a comment